Suzanne Holroyd, MD

Class Year




Posted on: March 14, 2024

Suzanne Holroyd, MD ’86, professor and chair of psychiatry and behavioral medicine at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine and Marshall Health Network, was one of only 10 individuals named to the WV Executive magazine 2024 Health Care Hall of Fame.

Holroyd was named chair of the department of psychiatry and behavioral medicine at Marshall University in 2014. During the past decade, she and her team have expanded clinical care, enhanced training opportunities, and improved the inpatient experience at one of West Virginia’s largest psychiatric hospitals. In addition to establishing a psychiatry residency program at Marshall, Holroyd has increased its capacity and introduced specialized fellowship training programs in child and adolescent psychiatry and geriatric psychiatry. Most recently, Marshall’s rural psychiatry residency in Point Pleasant earned initial accreditation, and under Holroyd’s leadership, will welcome its first group of residents in July 2024.

In addition, Holroyd established the Marshall Mind Wellness Center in 2018, providing intensive outpatient and partial hospitalization programs for adults. This allows patients to receive structured therapy while remaining at home. Holroyd’s collaborations with the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources have strengthened community mental health services. Faculty members now hold key positions at Mildred Mitchell-Bateman Hospital, providing valuable clinical experience to medical students and psychiatry residents. Holroyd’s leadership has been pivotal in improving psychiatric care in West Virginia, and this year marked the 20th year Holroyd was recognized as a Castle Connolly Top Doctor®.