Benjamin C. and Eleanore B. Sturgill Scholarship




Resident of southwest Virginia preferred

Established in 2006 by Eleanore B. Sturgill, in memory of her husband,  Dr. Benjamin C. Sturgill (deceased in 2004). Dr. Sturgill was a graduate of the UVA Medical School Class of 1960, he was a much-admired faculty member as dean of admissions . Scholarships are provided to UVA medical students who have a demonstrated financial need and hold a high school diploma from the City of Norton, Va., or from one of the following Southwest Virginia counties: Bland, Wythe, Grayson, Tazewell, Smyth, Washington, Buchanan, Russell, Dickerson, Wise, Scott or Lee. If there are no eligible candidates from these locations, then the scholarship may be offered to a student who graduated from the University of Virginia’s College at Wise.