Skip Navigation

40th Annual Bowman Award Celebration

October 28, 2017 – Each year since 1978, the Bowman Award has been presented to a fourth-year medical student at UVA who demonstrates the spirit and ideals with which Dick Bowman, MD ’74, impressed his fellow students, physicians, family and friends during his relatively short lifetime. Dr. Bowman died tragically in May 1977 as the result of a sailing accident in upstate New York.

The 40th Annual Bowman Dinner was celebrated in the Dome Room of the Rotunda on October 28. Among the attendees were 12 past Bowman Award recipients. The five Bowman Scholars selected for 2017 were honored at the event: Kristina Amelia Burger, Esteban Cubillos-Torres, Emmarie Genevieve Henriette Myers, David Matthew Noble and Walker DeHart Redd, who was chosen as the 2017 Bowman Award recipient. Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees.

See photos from the event.