Over the last 30 years, the UVA Medical Alumni Association has operated out of several locations on and around Grounds.
On April 25, 1998, the Medical Alumni Association, in large part through the generosity of MacRoy Gasque, MD ’44 and his wife Georgia, acquired the “Vowles House” on West Main Street in Charlottesville.
The John Vowles House was built in 1824 and is thought to be the oldest building on West Main Street. The site is considered to be one of Charlottesville’s finest surviving examples of Federal domestic architecture. The first of these townhouses was most likely built by James Dinsmore, one of the craftsmen recruited by Thomas Jefferson to work on the University of Virginia. The second townhouse was built for John Vowles, a merchant and proprietor of the Eagle Hotel, the main hotel in Charlottesville at the time. The Vowles Townhouses represent a unique pair among the few remaining buildings of their type in Charlottesville.
The property, a registered historic landmark, is one of the few remaining properties of its kind in Charlottesville. The house is located within walking distance of the Claude Moore Medical Education Building, the Health Sciences Library, and the University’s historic Corner district.