Skip Navigation

42nd Annual Bowman Award

Each year since 1978, the Bowman Award has been presented to a fourth-year medical student at UVA who demonstrates the spirit and ideals with which Dick Bowman, MD ’74, impressed his fellow students, physicians, family and friends during his relatively short lifetime. Dr. Bowman died tragically in May 1977 as the result of a sailing accident in upstate New York.

The 42nd Annual Bowman Dinner was celebrated in the Dome Room of the Rotunda on October 5. The five Bowman Scholars selected for 2019 were honored at the event: Meagan Elizabeth Briley, Lois Davis, Darian Leslie Hoagland, Jeffrey Robert Ruland and Kristen Leigh Knapp, who was chosen as the 2019 Bowman Award recipient.

Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees!

See photos from this event in our Photo Albums.