Skip Navigation

Alumni Awards

Dearing Johns, MD ’77

Dearing W. Johns, MD is a 1977 graduate of the University of Virginia School of Medicine and an undergraduate of Sweet Briar College. She completed her medical internship at George Washington University Medical Center, and then returned to the University of Virginia  for a hypertension fellowship, medical residency, and cardiology fellowship.

Dr. Johns joined the faculty at the University of Virginia in 1985 and recently retired from her appointments as associate professor of medicine (cardiology).  Her special research interest has included mechanisms causing hypertension with special focus on the renin angiotensin hormonal system and her special clinical interest includes prevention of heart disease with a focus on hypertension and lipid management as well as  heart disease in women.

Dr. Johns is a recipient of the following honors and awards:

  • Douglas Eastwood Award in Anesthesiology, University of Virginia School of Medicine, 1977
  • First Annual University of Virginia Research Day Award, April 1982
  • Raven Society, University of Virginia, 2003.

Dr. Johns is a loyal member of the UVA Medical Alumni Association’s Board of Directors, serving as a member of the board since 2003. She served in a variety of roles including the membership on the alumni relations committee, the compensation committee, and the nominating committee, and as an ex-officio trustee for the UVA Medical School Foundation. Dr. Johns also was an officer of the board as secretary, and most recently as the association’s second female president. During her time on the board, Dr. Johns has provided valuable insight and vision for the association. She is a remarkable leader and continues to play an important role in shaping the future of our UVA Medical Alumni Association.

In recognition of her dedication and service, the alumni relations committee presented the 2013 Outstanding Medical Alumnus Award to Dr. Dearing Johns for her longstanding loyalty and leadership to the UVA Medical Alumni Association and Medical School Foundation.