Skip Navigation

2023 Bowman Scholars

Congratulations to the 2023 Bowman Scholars: (L-R) Abigail Marie Williams, Elizabeth Wat, Jack Dougherty Lawton, Simon Wilcox White, and Micayla Menchel seen here with Bowman Trustees Eugene McGahren, MD ’84, and Meg Keeley, MD ’92. Lawton was selected as the 2023 Bowman Award recipient.

Each year since 1978, the Bowman Award has been presented to a fourth-year medical student at UVA. The Dr. Cecil Richard “Dick” Bowman Fund exists at the UVA School of Medicine to recognize medical students who demonstrate the spirit and ideals of the late Dr. Bowman. Five Bowman Scholars are selected and honored annually at the conclusion of their third year of study, in recognition of clinical excellence and for exemplifying integrity, enthusiasm and compassion, among other qualities. The Bowman Scholars are selected by a committee of clinical educators from the School of Medicine.

Congratulations again to this year’s honorees!

See more photos here.

Back to Newsroom