Skip Navigation

Wilkes Elected to National Academy of Medicine

October 19, 2020 – The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) has announced the election of 90 regular members and 10 international members during its annual meeting. They include David S. Wilkes, MD, dean of the University of Virginia School of Medicine and James Carroll Flippin Professor of Medical Sciences. Wilkes was recognized by the NAM “for leading his institutions to record levels of research funding; guiding the Harold Amos Faculty Development Program to markedly increase minority physician scientist trainees; and creating a paradigm shift and novel drug development when discovering autoimmunity contributes to chronic rejection post-lung transplantation and in idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis.”

In announcing the news to UVA Health staff, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs K. Craig Kent, MD, said, “Under David’s leadership, the School of Medicine has steadily increased its research funding, earning a UVA-record $146.3 million in funding from the National Institutes of Health in fiscal year 2019 … David demonstrates excellence in all that he does, and I am thrilled to celebrate his induction into the National Academy of Medicine.”